I Serve a Risen Savior!

He Lives

Propped in the groove of a small piece of wood sitting on my desk, I have a 2-inch-by-3-inch mirror decorated with the words,  “I Serve a Risen Savior.” It reminds me of one of my all-time favorite hymns, “He Lives!” It was composed in 1933 by Alfred Henry Ackley (1887-1960). If you click on the following link, you can listen to the tune while reading the lyrics to this most uplifting song: http://www.hymnal.net/en/hymn/h/503

HE LIVES!

1. I serve a risen Savior   He’s in the world today. I know that He is living,   Whatever men  may say. I see His hand of mercy;   I hear His voice of cheer; And just the time I need Him  He’s always near.

CHORUS: He lives, He lives, Christ Jesus lives today! He walks with me and talks with me along life’s narrow way. He lives, He lives, salvation to impart! You ask me how I know He lives?  He lives within my heart.

2. In all the world around me   I see His loving care, And though my heart grows weary,   I never will despair; I know that He is leading,   Through all the stormy blast; The day of His appearing   Will come at last.

3. Rejoice, rejoice, O Christian,   Lift up your voice and sing Eternal hallelujahs   To Jesus Christ the King! The Hope of all who seek Him,   The Help of all who find, None other is so loving,   So good and kind.

The words of this old hymn are as inspirational as the melody itself. I imagine this sacred song will continue to be sung in many churches all throughout the world as Christians celebrate the glorious resurrection of Jesus Christ from the tomb. It continues to be a popular choice because the words ring so true: He lives! He lives! Christ Jesus lives today!

For we can believe the Holy Scriptures:

1 Corinthians 15 12Now if Christ is preached, that He has been raised from the dead, how do some among you say that there is no resurrection of the dead? 13 But if there is no resurrection of the dead, not even Christ has been raised; 14 and if Christ has not been raised, then our preaching is vain, your faith also is vain. 15 Moreover we are even found to be false witnesses of God, because we testified against God that He raised Christ, whom He did not raise, if in fact the dead are not raised. 16 For if the dead are not raised, not even Christ has been raised; 17 and if Christ has not been raised, your faith is worthless; you are still in your sins. 18 Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ have perished. 19 If we have hoped in Christ in this life only, we are of all men most to be pitied.  20 But now Christ has been raised from the dead, the first fruits of those who are asleep.

If we follow the Apostle Paul’s reasoning in these verses, we can be fully assured that our Christian service is not a waste of time, money, or energy. Wherever and however we serve him, we are not just spinning our wheels. The living Lord is always with us to guide and provide as we abide in him every day.

1 Cor. 1558 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your toil is not in vain in the Lord.

The glorious resurrection of Jesus from the dead is what gives us reason to keep on keeping on no matter the obstacles that might get in our way. Whenever you are down and life gets rough, just remember this song: He Lives! For, like it says, “You ask me how I know he lives? He lives within my heart!”  

Happy Resurrection [Easter] Sunday!
And Good News to you!
Pastor Michael

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment